Self-Control Is Essential

12 Nov

Hello beautiful people!

I hope that everyone had a great weekend.  I also hope that most of you were able to enjoy some gorgeous unseasonably warm fall weather.  We certainly did, but I will get to that in a minute.

Friday, I had my annual appointment with my endocrinologist on Friday, and she said my blood work was perfect.  She was very impressed with my 70 lb weight loss since she had seen me earlier this year.  I was excited for that appointment because I knew my weight loss would surprise her.  This week has been amazing for my self-esteem.  I have received endless compliments from co-workers, friends, family and my doc.  I am not doing this for the compliments, but I am not going to lie…they are an awesome bonus.  It always humbles me to have so many people care about me and my progress, and people who care enough to share a kind word to encourage me.

70 lb Weight Loss Face Comparison

My Saturday day started with a very productive weigh-in.  I was down 3 lbs for a total of 73 lbs lost.  I also FINALLY managed 4 workouts in one week!  This included a workout on Thursday aka Vampire Diaries day.  So, that fact alone gets me some major props from myself.  I love am obsessed with that show, and I am usually worthless after Tink is in bed because of it.

This weeks weight loss has my current weight at 260 lbs.  That has me only 10 lbs away from my next goal.  I will be shocked if I manage this by the end of November.  Although, I am going to try my darndest.  We will be traveling to the great state of Arkansas for Thanksgiving, and I will have to pull out all the self-control stops to make it through this holiday unscathed.  I will in no way be able to turn down my mom’s corn bread dressing, but I will limit myself to only a small serving.  I want to enjoy the day, but I am refusing (in advance)  to go wild eating until I could puke.  You all will get a play by-play after the fact!

Speaking of self-control, I indulged in a craving I have been having for a while now.  I have been wanting a sandwich and chips so freaking much.  Sounds pretty tame considering what I could be craving, but you know chips are one my big vices.  Chips with a delicious deli sandwich are like PB and J.  They just belong together.  Even though Subway and other sandwich places can help you with lighter options compared to burger joints, you still have to be smart about what you are piling on that sandwich.  Since I was indulging, I wanted real chips…not baked ones.  I wanted jalapeno kettle chips to be exact.  At 210 calories for that small bag of chips, I needed to plot and plan so I did not just blow the day.  I decided on the lightest possible 6 inch I could make, and decided to only eat half of the 6 inch and half of the chips for lunch.  I effectively did this and then finished it all off for dinner.  That is self-control folks!  Cutting a 6 inch in half… dividing a single serve bag of chips in half and setting the rest aside.  That takes determination.  I enjoyed it and felt satisfied afterward.

This is what self-control looks like-ish

However today, I have felt like a bottomless pit.  I did not really eat that much less quantity wise yesterday, so I think it could be the carb rush from the sandwich and chips.  Starches spike you blood sugar and therefore cause it to crash.  This causes us to then feel really hungry and leads us to overeat.  This is the most starchy/high glycemic foods I have had in nearly 6 months.  I managed to eat per my (new) normal standard today despite the increased hunger, and by dinner, my appetite was under control again.

Something else that encourages me?  Feeling good getting outdoors with my family, especially Tink!  We took advantage of 70 degree sunny weather yesterday and went on a nature walk.  Tink is a funny little creature.  She does not want to swing or slide.  She much prefers to walk around and explore.  That was a much more enjoyable option for the hubs and I, so we were happy to oblige.  We went for a walk to let Tink explore and experience some fall nature at its finest.  It was the perfect temperature and she was elated to be outdoors.  I was thrilled to see her so happy, but I was also happy that I wanted to go outdoors and be active with her.  This is a change from my previously heavier and lazier self.  Luckily, I am getting my groove going around the time Tink is ready to be active and enjoy the great outdoors!  There are so many adventures for me to look forward to having with my little family.

Enjoy some pictures from our little outing!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did you have any fun adventures or activities this weekend?  What are your favorite things to do when the weather is nice?

9 Responses to “Self-Control Is Essential”

  1. Jan b November 12, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    I also thought giving into a craving this weekend would sate me, but it made things worse. I’m going to try to remember that. Your photos are inspiring!

    • fatchicktofitchick November 12, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

      Thanks Jan! Glad that you like them. I have rarely been happy with the end result of any indulgence. So, that does make it easier to abstain in the future.

  2. Laura @ Chaotic Domestic November 12, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    Sometimes it’s nice to just treat yourself. So you’re not constantly depriving yourself. And it seems like you did a great job of still making healthy choices while getting to enjoy something you like. The pictures in the post look great!

  3. kepotts November 12, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I just have to say “WOW”, you look awesome & kudos’ on the continued pounds lost! Keep up the stellar work! It was gorgeous here in STL on Saturday & I cleaned the house with the windows open & got in some yard time. Happy Monday!

    • fatchicktofitchick November 12, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

      I love having the windows open! We enjoyed that yesterday as well! Unfortuneatly reality and the 40’s has hit today…

    • fatchicktofitchick November 12, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      I totally butchered the word unfortunately…and hit reply before I fixed it. lol lightening fingers here!

  4. sjvella November 12, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Wow you look awesome 🙂 congrats xx

Leave a comment

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

New Body Same Mind

My battle with the mind/body limbo after gastric bypass surgery

| Gaining My Life Back |

My physical and mental journey to a healthy lifestyle

The McCutes

A glance at the life I'm creating with my family.

Mae Mai

Research blog of Jon Silpayamanant (โจนาทาน ศิลปยามานันท์)

fitnessgurutraining

revolutionizing fitness

The Primal Sophisticate

city life, simplified

ryanlyndseycoulter's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Lose It Big

From losing to living

angieandfrankswedding

Sharing tid bits of our wedding planning processes!

THE MITCHELL MESSENGER

a blog about our little family