Firecracker Veggies Recipe

11 Dec

On of my favorite Thai dishes is Firecracker chicken.  It is close to 1,200 calories of Lo Mein noodles, chicken, broccoli, onion, walnuts, and water chestnut amazingness!

However, I wanted to come up with a lighter healther alternative that would give me similar flavors.  Thanks to one of my BF’s at Diary of a CrossFit Mom mentioned last week that she was craving Thai food and made some dish with shredded cabbage.  My little food tricking brain went to work on the idea for this amazing culinary creation.  Seriously, it is that good!

Ingredients
Sauce:
1 tbsp Soy Sauce (I used reduced sodium)
1/2 cup Korean Red Chili Paste
1 tsp Splenda (this was the sweetener I had on hand. I rarely use sweetener, so as expensive that junk is, I use it up. I mention this because I know Truvia would be a better option.)
2 tbsp Rice Vinegar
2 tsp Sesame Oil

Veggies:
1.5 cups of cabbage shredded
1 cup broccoli chopped
1/2 onion sliced
7 walnut halves

Heat all of the sauce ingredients in a sauce pan until hot and blended.  Set aside.  In a wok (or skillet) cook the vegetables until desired tenderness (hubs threw in some shredded roasted chicken).  Add walnuts and and sauce…Please note start with only 1 tbsp of sauce (DO NOT POUR THE ENTIRE SAUCE MIX ON THE LISTED AMOUNT OF VEGGIES).  It is a very concentrated sauce.  I love hot foods and the flavor of this sauce and 1 tbsp was perfect on the listed quantity of veggies.

I feel quite certain that the shredded cabbage would be the perfect noodle substitute on any Asian inspired dish.  I can’t wait to branch out and try some new recipes with this new revelation!

Enjoy!

Stay Strong and Keep Moving,

sig

4 Responses to “Firecracker Veggies Recipe”

  1. Kara G of PG Sisters December 11, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    WOW that sounds delicious! Did you calorie count include the chicken, or just the veggies?

    I’ll be trying this soon!

    • fatchicktofitchick December 11, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      Just the veggies. I am sure you could cut the oil to cut a few calories, but u think it really helps the flavor for not too many added calories. You might also use fewer walnuts if you add chicken. I hope you enjoy it. I have been eating off that sauce for 3 meals so far and still have a decent amount left.

  2. Tamara December 12, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    Never can have too much Korean chili paste!

  3. Laura @ Chaotic Domestic December 12, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    I love Thai food. This sounds like a great recipe. Will definitely have to try it.

Leave a comment

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

New Body Same Mind

My battle with the mind/body limbo after gastric bypass surgery

| Gaining My Life Back |

My physical and mental journey to a healthy lifestyle

The McCutes

A glance at the life I'm creating with my family.

Mae Mai

Research blog of Jon Silpayamanant (โจนาทาน ศิลปยามานันท์)

fitnessgurutraining

revolutionizing fitness

The Primal Sophisticate

city life, simplified

ryanlyndseycoulter's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Lose It Big

From losing to living

angieandfrankswedding

Sharing tid bits of our wedding planning processes!

THE MITCHELL MESSENGER

a blog about our little family