Comfort Foods Don’t Have To Kill You

13 Jul

My first cuisine adventure was cauliflower rice or cauli-rice as the kids are calling it these days.

I had so many options of how to doctor this rice substitute up, but in the end a childhood comfort food won out.

My mom made (often and at my request) Spanish rice for me growing up. Until recently it was still a comfort food staple in my life. It was a very basic concoction of white rice, onions cooked in some sort of oil until they were a little brown (my fave part), tomato sauce, tomatoes, salt and pepper. That was it, but it was oh so good.

I set out last night determined to make Spanish Cauli-Rice. The verdict…Amazing!!!! As close to the original without being actual rice.

Here is the recipe:

  • Onion
  • Roma Tomatoes (or diced canned tomatoes if you like)
  • Sea Salt
  • Pepper
  • Cauliflower

Prepare the sauce:

My name is Jennifer and I am a pepper addict.

I sauteed my onions in just a touch of calorie free fake butter stuff. I blanched 5 roma tomatoes, peeled and diced them. I do not de-seed my tomatoes. I personally like all the seed and tomato guts so I just peel and dice. Toss in tomatoes with sauteing onions and turn on low heat and cover. Cook tomatoes and onions about 40 minutes or so. (If you use canned tomatoes, this time will be significantly decreased.)

Prepare the cauli-rice:

Cauli-Rice!

Cauli-Rice!

Chop up cauliflower in to big florets. (Amount just depends on how much you want to make) Pulse in a food processor with blade until the consistency of rice. Put in microwave safe bowl with lid. I seasoned my cauli-rice with a little sea salt, cracked black pepper and the fake butter stuff. Cover and cook in the microwave 5 to 6 minutes. Do not add water. It stay moist enough with its natural water content.

Serve it up! Combine the two and enjoy! I combined the two on a bowl by bowl basis because I did not want to get the cauli-rice to mushy when I nuked the leftovers. By the way it was better for lunch than it was for dinner! I love when that happens.

Bon Appetit,

2 Responses to “Comfort Foods Don’t Have To Kill You”

  1. SAHM in KY July 13, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    so tell me…is the taste of cauli-rice similar to rice?

    • chirpybleu July 13, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      The first time I had it, the consistency was spot on. The flavor was a little off at first, but when I nuked the cauliflower-rice with the tomatoes for lunch, it tasted extremely close!

Leave a comment

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

New Body Same Mind

My battle with the mind/body limbo after gastric bypass surgery

| Gaining My Life Back |

My physical and mental journey to a healthy lifestyle

The McCutes

A glance at the life I'm creating with my family.

Mae Mai

Research blog of Jon Silpayamanant (โจนาทาน ศิลปยามานันท์)

fitnessgurutraining

revolutionizing fitness

The Primal Sophisticate

city life, simplified

ryanlyndseycoulter's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Lose It Big

From losing to living

angieandfrankswedding

Sharing tid bits of our wedding planning processes!

THE MITCHELL MESSENGER

a blog about our little family